hijabeng

August 14, 2011

Ramadan Weight Gain!!!!

Filed under: family,Weekend Update,Weigh In — hijabeng @ 11:38 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Yes, folks, you read that right, I GAINED weight while fasting ::FACEPALM::. In trying to spend more time  with my parents, I join them for iftar at the masjid, where we’re stuffed with biryani, pakoras and other desi goodies. Doing this for a week made my body very angry.

I go for my weekly weigh-ins on Saturday mornings. So I went and the lady said,”wow”. I’m expecting to hear how I lost so much, especially since I hadn’t gone for two weeks (bad, I know but I had legitimate excuses). Instead, I discover that I went up 4 lbs. FOUR!!!!!!!!! WHAT THE DEAL, YO!?!?!?!?!?!?!

Now I have solid proof that rice and my body don’t get along, as if my prior weight loss stemming from decreasing my rice intake didn’t prove it already. Le sigh. So now I’m 157.4. Gah. When will I ever make it to 150?????

So, I came home and made myself a leafy salad with red lettuce, olive oil, salt and balsamic vinegar. Yum. Bought two heads of lettuce to make sure I get fresh greens and olive oil every day – the importance of healthy fats was stressed at the meeting. Here’s to a better week InshAllah!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

